Board & Staff

As a Private Independent Family Foundation, the Board of Trustees is primarily comprised of family members and descendants of the founders Elmer L. and Eleanor J. Andersen. As with any 501c3 organization, the trustees make important oversight decisions regarding the administration of the foundation. The board also convenes to make decisions regarding grantmaking for the organization.

Directors and Officers

Julian Andersen

Julian L. Andersen, President & Director

Julian Andersen was raised and schooled in Minnesota, graduating from Carleton College in 1964. He completed a 30 year professorial career at a Washington community college in 1996, and now shares his time with his family in Seattle and a few Minnesota endeavors. He enjoys reading, live music, travel, major junior hockey, and the terrain and the terroir of the Washington Cascades.

Amy Andersen

Amy Andersen, Vice President, Treasurer & Director

Amy Andersen has served on the Elmer L. & Eleanor J. Andersen board since 1995. Formerly an outdoor educator and bookseller, she is currently engaged with several nonprofits in rural Wyoming, and has a special interest in libraries and the arts.

Charles Dayton

Charles (Chuck) Dayton, Director

Chuck Dayton is an environmental lawyer who practiced in Minneapolis for 40 years, representing environmental groups as well as corporations. He led the fight in the 1970’s to increase the Wilderness protection for the Boundary Waters Wilderness, and was named by the Minnesota Chapter of the Sierra Club as the Environmentalist of the Decade for that and other work. Since his retirement, he has served as a volunteer on energy and global warming issues and is a frequent speaker on those issues, to student, civic and church groups.

Otis (2)

Todd Otis, Director

Todd Otis was raised in Minnesota by a family with a strong sense of public service.  He graduated from Harvard with a BA in History and received an MS in Journalism from Columbia.  His public service has included serving in the Peace Corps in Senegal; serving for 12 years in the Minnesota House of Representatives; and advocating for clean energy and early childhood education.  He is now a Senior Vice President at Think Small.  He enjoys tennis, reading, spiritual exploration, movies and being a father and grandfather.

Terry Style

Terry L. Slye, Secretary

Terry Slye is an attorney at Briggs and Morgan, where he co-chairs the firm’s Nonprofit Organizations team. He is active with a number of non-profit organizations and foundations, and is a frequent speaker and writer for Minnesota Continuing Legal Education. He enjoys golf, travel, reading and Italian discussion group.


Mari Oyanagi Eggum

Mari Oyanagi Eggum, Foundation Administrator

Mari Oyanagi Eggum is a former teacher and has served and is serving as a volunteer, board member and officer for several community organizations and foundations. She enjoys family, friends, reading, travel, yoga, and origami.

Kate Lawson, Foundation Administrator

Kate Lawson is new to the Elmer L. & Eleanor J. Andersen Foundation. Formerly in corporate philanthropy, she holds a master’s degree in arts administration from St. Mary’s University. She’s passionate about the arts and the philanthropic community.  She enjoys family, DIY projects and travel.